Children and Running

I started   the Jamison Elementary School Roadrunners Running Program in 2005.  The club consisted of children grades K-6 that attended the school age childcare program at Jamison Elementary School in Jamison Pa.   The children ran in local races participating in the one mile fun runs or the 5K race. This simple program can help children get in  shape for any sport.

Program Overview- Workouts
Week 1 – Run 1 minute followed by walk 1 minute continuing this rotation until the total time is about 20 minutes.
Week 2 – Run 2 minutes followed by walk 1 minute continuing this rotation until the total time is about 20 minutes.
Week 3 – Run 3 minutes followed by walk 1 minute continuing this rotation until the total time is about 20 minutes. Week 4– Run 4 minutes followed by walk for 1 minute continuing this rotation until the total time is about 20 minutes.

Continue adding 1 minute a week to the running time with the 1 minute walk.   If the group is adjusting quicker add 2 minutes.

2005 Jamison Road Runners

Running was something that improved my self-esteem.  I  started this group  to spark the children’s interest in the sport I have learned to love.  Several of the Jamison Roadrunners realized they  enjoyed running and where talented runners as elementary school children.   They continued running on the middle school track team  and high school cross-country/ track teams.   They would have never even thought about going out for track/cross-country if not for the Jamison Roadrunners program.  They learned running can be fun!

I started running in seventh grade (I can’t believe it’s been twenty-eight years).   While in elementary school my best friend and I would bet the boys in the Presidential Physical Fitness run. After running the Presidential Physical Fitness run in gym class in seventh grade, the track coach saw my time and talked me into going out for track.   I enjoyed athletics but was small so some sports seemed useless to try.  I tried soccer but since I started at 12 years old the other girls had a lot better ball skills than I did.   In seventh grade I ran the mile and 800 meters (the longest races in Jr. High).  In high school my best friend and I went out for cross-country.  We only when it was running but had no idea what cross-country actually was.I qualified for states my first year running the sport. In college I ran the 5k and 10k in track.  Some of my college education was paid because I ran.

Leave a Reply

