Pregancy is no excuse to sit around and eat more

If only more women realized that pregnancy is not an excuse to sit down and eat extra food for 9 months, but more than ever a reason to stay active and healthy for you and your baby’s health.

I recently came across an article about Paula Radcliff running a race and thought it would be encouraging to other women.  Why?   Paula Radcliffe the 10km world record holder of 30:21 set   in 2003.  She ran a 10k in early July, which paid tribute to the Jane Tomlinson charity.    Jane set up the charity before she died of cancer.   This doesn’t sound unusual but she was 7 months pregnant.  She completed the course in a time of 45 minutes and 35 seconds and ran the final 100 meters with her three-year old daughter Isla Lough. Paul ran the New York Mini 10k in June, finishing with a time of 44: 36 seconds (almost 15 minutes slower than her world record).   She obviously is not concerned about running a time, but it was about enjoying the day. After all how often do you think she gets to take it easy in a race?  She is running every day to keep up her fitness for the 2012 Olympics, which are in her home country London England.

I have three children of my own and ran every day of my pregnancies.  As I read the article it brought back memories of me running and even racing while pregnant.  I had people give me dirty as I ran.  My doctor encouraged me to run but change so of my routines- like so running at the hottest time of day and  so my pace.  One time a friend passed me on an up hill in the last mile of a 5K.  He later told me he felt guilty passing a 7 months pregnant runner but figured he would not have another chance to bet me.   Like Paula I ran more for the enjoyment.  I had the chance to run with my sister in a 5k and not worry my time.   It was nice to not care about the number of females that past me, or if one of my rivals where on my heels.   I wore a heart rate monitor to help keep me running well under my target heart rate zone.  If you don’t have a heart rate monitor I suggest getting one because it will keep up in the zone (if you’re not pregnant obviously it will be in the zone not under).  I also talked during the race to people.  This at first seemed odd because as a competitive runner you never talk during a race you try to get the person in front of you.   I had no problems suring my pregnancies or deliveries.  My only worry after my first was will I get to the hospital in time or will the baby be born as I run into the hospital.  All three of my deliveries where 100% natural.  I was back running 6 weeks after having my first child.  The other two I was back running two weeks later.  I lost all the baby weight by my six week check up.  Several people said I was lucky to loos the weight so quickly but it was not luck it was because of all the exercise I did during the pregancy and that I didn’t let myself sit around after I deliverd- it was the workouts I did not luck.  I  was glad to hear Olympians running while pregnant and helping others realize that just because you are pregnant doesn’t mean you have to stop everything.

2 Responses

  1. Great article! I ran while pregnant and got opinions from everyone, saying I was crazy for putting the baby at harm. I was very embarrassed to be seen at the gym on the treadmill, and got dirty looks all the time. Naturally, I ran slower and less miles as time went on. The last few weeks I typically only walked, maybe ran 1 mile very slow. I was trying to stay healthy for both me & my baby, and I love to run. I gained the exact amount of weight recommended, and 1 week after her birth I was back to my pre-pregnancy weight. People thought I was ‘lucky’, and I tell them I worked very hard to be healthy & active, and eating right. I did a 5K a few months later just for fun, and ended up matching my fastest time ever (Which is impressive given a solid competitive collegiate career) I think somehow running while pregnant actually made me a better runner.

    • I to got dirty looks but didn’t care because I knew I dong the right thing for both of us and my doctor encouraged me. I to lost the weight quickly and others said I was lucky- I said no it took hard work. My 2 girls now run 5k’s (ages 9 and 6) they are use to seeing Mom and Dad run so it seemed normal for them. Of course they don’t train. It frustrates other adults that they can not run for months and then run a 5k and talk the whole race.

Leave a Reply

